ice shelter

i am covered with a sheet of ice

 

my heart warms with the raising sun

rays that caress a downturned face

a drooping sunflower

i too, turn to the sun

it seeks this comfort, as do i

 

my arms unwrap

from being woven around

hand imprints on my shoulders

from holding so tight

 

i break free from

this ice shelter cracks and falls

shatters around my feet

where i kneel down

lapping at the puddles

for this is

 

freedom

i will drink from it and it will nourish

every cell of my being

Leave a Reply

