napowrimo – mdaaswi (ten)

one by one

gathering

one by one

shapes of constellations

one by one

spreading across olive skin

cells growing in clusters becoming little brown & bumpy mounds

 

when my mom used to carry me i would touch her

moles on her neck

i would pretend that my fingertip was a little

person jumping on the little sacks of flesh

bounce bounce bounce

until my mom shooed away my little grubby hands

 

now when i look in the mirror those moles are back

wiggling their little bodies like kids urging a game of tag

my skin is playing games

and now i count them

one by one

Leave a Reply

