She wrote my name

Photo on 2013-09-17 at 10.44 #2This morning the post man came and dropped a package through the slot. I raced down because when it hit the floor it made a loud thud noise. No mail does that – on purpose. It could mean only one thing. A book. I picked up the brown envelope and saw my name scribbled on it and the sender’s name: Prof Joy Harjo. I can’t remember it very clearly but I’m pretty sure I squealed. Yeah me, squealed.

I have an envelope now that Joy touched. The ink on the envelope – she put there. She wrote my name. It’s silly I know. But I can’t help it. It’s not very often I get mail from one of my heroes.

Photo on 2013-09-17 at 10.45What’s even better is that the copy of “Crazy Brave” by Joy Harjo is inscribed:

To Storm and Grace

In honor of being Crazy Brave

Love

Joy Harjo

Well at least that’s what I think it says. Her signature are like waves during a windy day. I just wanna slide down that sloping J and go flying into the wind like a seed and travel across the land.

The CD, “Native Joy For Real” has some of my favourite poems too!

Ya hey, ya hey ya!

2 thoughts on “She wrote my name

Leave a Reply

