mino mazina’ganan – good books

If a person spends two hours a day commuting to and from work, five days a week. How much time time is spent on the bus? Or, how is time spent on the bus?

That’s 10 hours per week. That’s just over 1 day of work. Or one day of leisure.

At times, I zone out after work. Doctor Oz says, all you need is a fifteen minute nap (aka Power Nap) and I’ve got at least an hour. I can work on some time management. There, I set my intention.

Meditate for 10 minutes look at all the red brake lights trailing up a head, notice the dismantling of an old bridge and the construction of a new walking bridge over the Queensway, so I guess not really meditating, just taking in all the progress.

Change buses at the exchange. There’s lots of people doing the same thing as me. We are connected. The idea of getting home soon is spreading and feet pick up the pace.

Here I wait at the bottom platform for the bus that will take me all the way home. The bus arrives with scant riders so there’s lots of empty seats, allowing for some relaxation for the next few stops. And get caught up on some reading.

Over the past few year(s), I’ve had all this time in transit to read and I’ve read mino mazina’ganan (good books).

This autobiographic novel is about connection to the land, the water, the animals in their natural habitat, the snakes, the desert. Through Leslie Marmon Silko‘s narration you learn about who she is in relation to her connection to the natural world. It was such a pleasure to read on the bus and at home. It was enlightening and resonating.  I’ve lent this book to friend who also spends lots of time on the land and listening. I know that she will love it. I am looking forward to reading this one again.

It’s amazing what poetry can do. I received this book as a gift from my friend who was attending Sante Fe Indian Arts Institute. She was lucky to meet this poet from the Dine Nation. Reading this book of poetry by Orlando White seeped into me at a cellular, molecular level. That’s the only way I can describe it. It was the thought forms and ideas about language that was riveting. Innovative. Mind-bending. Is that weird or what?

This book was laying around like a cast away. My daughter, Grace, lost interest and it collected dust. I read the first 50 pages just to check it out and got hooked. The realization that human society has come from a very wicked and barbaric past feeds the imagination of writer’s of this dystopian future. Like the Hunger Games series, that I also picked up like a cast away, the series by James Dashner also features teenagers engaged in extreme survivalist mode. It’s scary to me to read these books and think about my own teenage daughters and a future that looks so bleak. But what underlies these stories are an interesting look at the extremes of human behaviours and attitudes, and ethics or lack of. I hope that these stories will not come to past. I’m happy it’s fiction. At the moment. Who knows.

When I was at a used book store, I came across The Celestine Vision by James Redfield. I forgot about The Ten Insights from years ago. So something inside me said pick it up. In fact it was like I was led there. Perhaps it was coincidence? Or something bigger like fate. This book will make you feel good about picking it up. It will help you believe in magic again like when you were a kid. And it’s not even fiction although the pessimists out there will say otherwise, I’m sure of it. Read it for yourself if you like new age and self help books. Who doesn’t want to be a better human? Maybe it will be a good gift for some notorious person.

I met this graphic artist and writer a couple years ago, Elisha Lim, who had her first graphic novel come out in 2014. It’s colourful and wonderful to look at and read. It’s called, 100 Crushes and it’s personal stories and accounts from Elisha and her guests/friends/heroes who grace the pages about love, relationships, and acts of heroism.

100 crushes

vivrek

These were some of my favourite books to read on the bus to and from work. I’ve read a whole bunch more but enough has been said at the moment. What were some of your faves that you’d recommend? My reading habits are all over the place so please let me know a little bit about it without giving away too much info.

5 thoughts on “mino mazina’ganan – good books

  1. I got into Agatha Christie on the bus and subway rides to and from work, and then Louise Penny. Also Catherine Cookson for something absorbing, makes the time fly 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

