war dances – poetry experimentation #napowrimo2017

war dances #napowrimo2017

Back when I was at the University of Victoria in a poetry class with Patrick Lane, he often said how important each line is in a poem. He thought that each line in a poem should stand alone as a finished poem. He urged each of us to think of each word choice; how it sounded with other words; what the literal definition of the word was; and also all the connotations the word had culturally and within society. He encouraged us to play with the words on each line, and rearrange the words. See how the line changes the meaning, the feeling, the sound. Mr. Lane also hoped for each of us to be fearless in our writing and speak from our own experiences as it was important to hear those stories. In each class, he wasn’t afraid to share his wealth of experiences and excitement for the new poetry being produced by new writers.

books used in this poetry experimentation: war dances by sherman alexie; back on the rez by brian maracle; and a wild patience has taken me this far by adrienne rich. miigwech for these writers and their fearlessness of sharing their worlds

It was in this poetry class that I realized that I needed to read more poetry if I wished to be a better writer. Over the years, I’ve heard this over and over again from many successful writers. Read, read, read. Read as much as you can from many sources. I enjoy reading other Indigenous writers because I feel part of a community within those pages. I see myself. I see my life reflected in a wide variety of genres written by my peers. So, I’m happy to share my love for Indigenous literature and share the titles with those who visit my blog. I am also happy to share my poetry and yours as well. Poetry opens our worlds up to other worlds so that they meet, mix, and change perspectives.

I enjoy reading other Indigenous writers because I feel part of a community within those pages. I see myself. I see my life reflected in a wide variety of genres written by a diverse group of peers. So, I’m happy to share my love for Indigenous literature and share the titles with those who visit my blog. I am also happy to share my poetry and read yours as well. Poetry opens our worlds up to other worlds so that they meet, mix, and change perspectives. Miigwech/Thanks.

Keep writing, keep reading, keep dreaming 🙂

Leave a Reply

